Member +

Member + with the permission to start projects, manage people and use reports

A Member + with this permission is able to: 

  • Create new projects. They automatically become its Project leader,
  • Manage projects they are Project leaders of,
  • Create and manage Project templates,
  • Invite new people to ActiveCollab (through the People section or the Project itself) and add them to projects they are a Project leader of,
  • Manage users - change their roles (to Member, Client+, Client), add them to projects and move them from one company to another in the system,
  • Manage all teams - create new teams, add or remove users from existing teams,
  • If there are users they're not able to view in the system, they can view the teams those users are members of, but can't view the team members of those same teams
  • Use all reports, except Payments, Uninvoiced, Invoices and Project Budget vs Cost.


Member + with this permission is not able to:

  • Change other users' roles to Member + or Owner,
  • View companies created by other users, which include people they are not on the same projects with,
  • Permanently delete what's in the Trash.


Sections visible to Member + with this permission:

  • Projects - only those they're included in,
  • My Work,
  • Activity,
  • Calendar,
  • People - only people they're able to see with their permission,
  • Reports - all reports except Payments, Uninvoiced, Invoices and Project Budget vs Cost,
  • Add-Ons - Desktop App, Sample Projects,
  • Workload,
  • Stopwatch,
  • Timesheet,
  • Trash - can’t permanently delete what's in the Trash.


Sections not visible to Member + with this permission:

  • Estimates
  • Invoices
  • Profitability

Member + with the permission to manage invoices and estimates

Member + with this permission is able to:

  • Create and manage recurring invoices,
  • Create a new invoice form,
  • Create an invoice based on the project they are included in,
  • View all invoices, even those made for projects they are not included in, and for companies they can’t view in the People section,
  • Edit and manage all Invoices,
  • View and manage all Estimates,
  • Set QuickBooks and Xero integrations.


Member + with this permission is not able to:

  • View specific time entries and expenses for other users on projects, but is able to see the total time, hourly rates and expenses in a project's Budget details, or in a report.


Sections visible to Member + with this permission:

  • Projects - only those they are included in,
  • My Work,
  • Activity,
  • Calendar,
  • People - people they can see with their permission,
  • Invoices - all Invoices,
  • Estimates - all Estimates,
  • Reports - only financial Reports (Payments, Uninvoiced, Invoices and Project Budget vs Cost), Profitability
    Payments - all payments,
    Uninvoiced - all open projects, even those they are not included in (but not completed projects),
    Invoices - all Invoice reports,
    Project Budget vs Cost - only for projects they are included in,
  • Add ons - Desktop App, QuickBooks, Xero,
  • Workload,
  • Stopwatch.

*** Trash - can’t permanently delete what's in the Trash.


Sections not visible to Member+ with this permission:

  • People,
  • Workload,
  • Timesheet,
  • Reports - Project, Task, Task by user, Team Timeline, Projects Timeline, Time, Expense tracking, Estimated Vs. Tracked Time.

Member + with both permissions described above

Member + with both permissions is able to:

  • Create new projects they automatically become the Project leader of,
  • Manage projects they are Project leaders of,
  • Create and manage Project templates,
  • Invite new people to ActiveCollab (through the People section or the Project itself) and add them to projects they are a Project leader of,
  • Manage users - change their roles (to Member, Client+, Client), add them to projects and move them from one company to another in the system,
  • Manage all teams - create new teams, add or remove users from existing teams,
  • If there are users they're not able to view in the system, they can view the teams those users are members of, but can't view the team members of those same teams,
  • Use all reports,
  • Create and manage recurring invoices,
  • Create a new invoice form,
  • Create an invoice based on the project they are included in,
  • See all invoices, even those made for projects they are not included in, and for companies they can’t view in the People section,
  • Edit and manage all Invoices,
  • View and manage all Estimates,
  • Set QuickBooks and Xero integrations.


Member + with both permission is not able to:

  • Change other users' roles to Owner or Member +,
  • View companies created by other users, which include people they are not on the same projects with,
  • Permanently delete what's in the Trash,
  • View specific time entries and expenses for other users on projects, but is able to see the total time, hourly rates and expenses in a project's Budget details, or in a report.


Sections visible to Member + with both permissions

  • Projects - only those they are included in,
  • My Work,
  • Activity,
  • Calendar,
  • People - people they can see with their permission,
  • Reports,
  • Add-Ons - Desktop App, Sample Projects,
  • Estimates,
  • Invoices,
  • Workload,
  • Stopwatch,

*** Tash - can’t permanently delete what's in the Trash.

Close